Reviews - Reader comments

Motorola KRZR K1 review: It's all about the looks

Motorola KRZR K1 review: It's all about the looks - read the full textMotorola has launched a new leader. The popular RAZR is being substituted by the new KRZR, whose glossy materials look luxurious. On the other hand, the innovations made since the forerunner are very few. Is this wrong? Not at all, provided all you need is a new pretty toy.

 

Sort by:

"i dunno why moto fan can't accept the gsmarena review.. the review never state the look and material used are lousy.. But they r just saying moto technology is disappointed , which is true. ppl who like the design, they will buy it .. and ppl who care abt features, they will not."

but why is that point so stressful with the krzr K1 but not the SE Z610? nobody is buying that phone for its tehnological prowess, it's a pretty phone with an attractive outer display. the screen sucks, the camera sucks, the battery sucks, the features overall are weak yet they're likely priced the same. they were in essence the same handset. why is the point of style over substance stressed so deeply in the KRZR K1 review yet not with other phones like SE z610?

because gsmarena.com does not like Motorola, that's why.

  • Reply
  • 2006-11-12 22:40
  • k1@y

Well first of all full marks 2 motorola 4 simply gr8 luking fones..........exceptional in d luks department.........but den 1 thing dat I always fail 2 understd............WEN WUD MOTOROLA ND SE IN PARTICULAR VID THEIR AWSUME MUSIC FONES REALIZE DAT ITS TIME THEY PUT SME GR8 INTERFACE LIKE NOKIA??? by far nd still Nokia manages 2 make fones dat d even a novice cn understd nd dere menu structure, themes, software support............list is endless.......d only flaws r designing nd software stability............i guess its high time all manufactures realize dat if dey wanna compete vid nokia den do consider wat dey r doing vid d fone apart 4m design..........even sony has agood interface den motorola nd samsung 2 but d kind of flexibility Nokia offers in its menu structure nd d interface nd the themes makes dem a certain long term buy....... i hve seen loads of ppl swappping their razrs vid nokia just bcz dey found d other more user friendly vid features nd softwares den just flashing off a gr8 design.......

  • Reply
  • 2006-11-12 14:35
  • iwXb

i dunno why moto fan can't accept the gsmarena review.. the review never state the look and material used are lousy.. But they r just saying moto technology is disappointed , which is true. ppl who like the design, they will buy it .. and ppl who care abt features, they will not.

  • Reply
  • 2006-11-12 11:56
  • PFM7

"here's a diff between z610 and K1. gsmarena hopes high for K1, but they didnt for z610 since z610 is not top class series from SE."

the KRZR K1 is not motorola's top of the line phone, it's a stylish solution, it's not even the successor to the razr contrary to what some misbelieve. the RAZR MAXX V6 is king of their regular phones. the KRZR K1 is no more the top at motorola than the 8800 Sirocco Edition is top at nokia.

still what i've said in my first paragraph is moot. gsmarena has enacted the role of reporter when it comes to reviews. they are to give us untainted information that leans in neither direction. i don't care what so called expectations they have, the point is MOOT. you should have no expectations at all if it will effect the outcome. feelings should be flatlined.

  • Reply
  • 2006-11-12 09:30
  • k1@y

i can answer that, MORE profiles. you can use it as bluetooth remote control and many other things. and of course better implementation of bluetooth.

its funny because EDGE 12 its not anything new... nokia its already showing CLASS 32 on the n93.
the k1 its LOOKS nothing more, its good that reviews show it weak points because EVERY function its way worse than it competirors.
if people will buy it as is it. a pretty phone they will not look fora review of it functions. those lookings for functions in any review they will found the same thing. outdate screen, BAD camera, horrible UI, bad mp3 player ,nice design, and the glass effect copied from the 7380.

  • Reply
  • 2006-11-12 06:16
  • Pv9c

@ TARANTULA
I wonder have u try n compare the cam for both of it? U seem like very sure of the difference.Or r u just biased like the reviewer of GSMARENA? N what so excellent with the bluetooth over KRZR's bluetooth? Mind to explain?

  • Reply
  • 2006-11-12 05:36
  • PSPa

Nobody is saying tht the KRZR is the multimedia computer like N95. But, just the way the reviewer of gsmarena did the review is a li'l bit bias towards MOTO. This model will sell well, yeah but the review here might confuse alot of potential buyer because of the bias.

  • Reply
  • 2006-11-12 05:15
  • PSPa

Hey dude, K1 play the same role like the RAZR V3, sell a lot!! This phone isnt for people who search great camera or mp3 player, is for people who search for design without some consideration about tech inside, for me The KRZR is an average phone, nothing more, i never buy it because i hate motorolas UI, SE z610 even without autofocus take better pics, has an appropiate mp3 player, has very good bluetooth work and has excellent UI.

V3in that ages was a mediocre phone, but it sells 50 millions or more of phones, it was a success and moto maybe repeat the success

  • Reply
  • 2006-11-12 02:38
  • P9nv

Well well well....i ve been a fan of GSMArena and of a diehard of SE. But never i tolerate bias treatments. & at least things just got disclosed by itself.....

Check their review in N93....and other good nokia fones. As well as their review with recent SE fones especially z610. SE's slight....really slight good points are always focused if not given exagerations......faults are concealed to the best they can. And other manufacturer's fones' good points are given less considerations and slight weaknesses are bloated. Sorry but that's my impressions the way you do your reviews.

  • Reply
  • 2006-11-11 17:55
  • SeFH

there's a diff between z610 and K1. gsmarena hopes high for K1, but they didnt for z610 since z610 is not top class series from SE. When they test K1, i can feel how they disappointed with old moto menu and UI and camera and player totally can't compare to some top phs from other brands.
Thats y they say ' just for the look". its not gsmarena fault. motorola really need to improve in their technology.thats it

  • Reply
  • 2006-11-11 07:45
  • PFM7

Like Richard says, the cam for K1 IS mediocre, but the same goes to SE Z610i as well.Y the reviewer nvr mention it when it comes to Z610i? N the reviewer seem like bragging the keypad for Z610i too much when i dont see anything special with it.

  • Reply
  • 2006-11-11 07:25
  • PSPa

but the k1 its just that mediocre!!! its not that gsm its bias it just the phone funtions such! it will sell by it looks but really for being a top solution by a top 5 manufacturer its just crap. outdate screen, bad ui, mp3 player, blurry camera etc.
i do really think most of the reviews here are SE fans or glorificators.

  • Reply
  • 2006-11-11 07:20
  • Pv9c

notice the difference between this review and one of a similar Sony Ericsson phone the z610

http://www.gsmarena.com/sony_e...view-110.php

there is no mention of the lower resolution screen but gsmarena takes note to highlight it with KRZR. you say K1 has few innovations from the original RAZR? EDGE class 12, 2mp camera over RAZR V3's VGA, microSD slot, mp3 player, stereo Bluetooth. yet the z610 is somehow a technological marvel compared to the rest of SE's handsets? they put on a shiny face with a OLED display from their mp3 players, other than that it's the same phone as some SEs from a year ago.

you hate the name krayzer yet you find the old tired alphanumeric -Z610- to be catchy? does the z610 have a face that catches fingerprints? if so it's deep within the review. the KRZR K1's faults begin before i can click the link! the z610's pictures were no better, they were both equally mediocre but with KRZR it's such a big thing.

your bias against Motorola is glaring gsmarena.

  • Reply
  • 2006-11-11 03:49
  • k1@y

We sell this phone in store, every person who has purchased it comes back with glowing descriptions of its every function. Great work, althought as the review suggests, it isn't much above the RAZR.

  • Reply
  • 2006-11-11 02:25
  • ijCk

Note: Sponsored advertising links are in green.