Following the release of its brand new redesigned app for riders last month, today Uber is introducing a couple of new features. Perhaps the most intriguing of them is the ability you now have to set a friend as your destination.
Yes, it's no longer needed to know exactly where you're headed when you order an Uber. That is, if you're meeting a friend. Just pick that friend as a destination, and Uber will send her or him a location request. If they accept that, their location becomes your destination for the Uber driver and you'll be on your way in no time. For friends who already have the Uber app installed, this location request will show up as a push notification. For everyone else, it will be a text message. The requests expire in half an hour, so if your friend doesn't respond in that time you're going to have to call them and ask for the exact address they're at. Once you're on your way, the friend that provided you with your destination will receive your ETA from Uber.
This could turn out to be a very useful feature for those Uber users who are always off meeting friends in unknown places. Note that you have to sync your contacts with the Uber app first in order for the "friend as a destination" feature to work.
Next up, there's Snapchat integration. This means if you use Snapchat you'll get custom Uber filters while you ride. If you are a Snapchat user and on an Uber ride, you'll see a Snap card in your Uber feed. You then select the type of filter you want, take a selfie, and swipe right.